GitLab CI - Part Three

· Rick's Ramblings

Images
#automation #gitlab #gitlab-ci

In my previous (and first!) post to this blog, I mentioned that my GitLab CI job didn't upload any images. Well, in theory, this should now be fixed thanks to an incredibly complicated change to the CI file (and repository).

Yes, I know that storing blobs in Git (and not git-lfs either) isn't the best, but ultimately the biggest downside is disk space and I think I can afford an inflated repository. After all, GitLab will let me have a repository up to 10GB and I suspect I'll move to a better way of managing media if I'm blogging for that long. Besides, I have a pre-commit hook set to forbid files of more than 500kB getting committed, so it'll take me a while to get there (assuming I don't change images over and over again, anyway).

 1diff --git a/.gitlab-ci.yml b/.gitlab-ci.yml
 2index 1a0f04b..d68e619 100644
 3--- a/.gitlab-ci.yml
 4+++ b/.gitlab-ci.yml
 5@@ -71,3 +71,4 @@ deploy-to-prose:
 6     - echo "### Deploying.."
 7     - ls -1 *.md
 8     - rsync --verbose --recursive *.md prose.sh:/
 9+    - rsync --verbose --recursive images/* prose.sh:/
10diff --git a/images/.gitkeep b/images/.gitkeep
11new file mode 100644

I'm an utter madlad for trying this. In any case, if there's a royalty-free image sure to inspire shock and awe at my computer master at the bottom of this post, it worked.

royalty-free-image

Image provided by Pexels on Pixabay.